The President of Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), Abubakar Balarabe Mahmoud (SAN), yesterday at the national secretariat of the association in Abuja inaugurated NBA 2018 Electoral Committee (ECNBA).

The five-member committee has Prof, Auwalu Yadudu (SAN) as chairman, Mr. Teslim Olatunde Busari (SAN) as alternate chairman and Mr. Bolaji A. Agoro as secretary.

Others are Prof. Augustin Agom and Gloria Anuli Ohia.

The members were nominated and approved during the last National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting held in Ilorin, the Kwara State capital.

Agom was nominated to replace Mr. Tobias Kekemeke, whose nomination was rejected by Bar leaders, who alleged that he was already canvassing votes for one of the presidential candidates.

Mahmoud (SAN) gave the committee the following terms of reference:

To manage, control and conduct elections of national officers, to screen aspirants for the election, to circulate the list of properly nominated candidates to all the branches and the candidates by e mails and publish same on NBA website before the elections.

He also charged the committee to publish a full list of the lawyers who are qualified to vote before the date of the elections, to publish the curriculum vitae, comprehensive manifestoes and campaign materials of all the qualified candidates on the NBA website, to issue guidelines for the conduct of the electronic voting, to collate and arrange all the material of qualified candidates in alphabetical order and publish them in electronic magazine on NBA website before the election.

Mahmoud urged the committee to hear appeals of candidates dissatisfied with the decision of electoral officers and/ or their assistants and take decisions upon receiving appeals made by a candidate.

Prof Yadudu (SAN) thanked the NBA for giving them the opportunity to serve the association and promised to discharge their duties according to the constitution of NBA, the fear of God and their conscience.

The inauguration was witnessed by national officers, including the General Secretary of NBA, Aare Isiaka Abiola Olagunju, the 1st Vice-President of NBA, Mr Caleb Dajan, the National Publicity Secretary, John Austin Unachukwu, 2nd Assistant Secretary, Cecilia Ugbuji and Assistant Financial Secretary, Ngozi Udodi.


13 March, 2018


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


©2018 TheLearnedFriends

Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?

Create Account